the year in books – May

This year is flying by! And one of the great markers of the year has been my return to regular reading through the year in books. Not always easy with 3 little ones but always rewarding.

WP_20140401_013
April’s read was The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte – an oldie but I have to say still a goodie. Its a tale of female empowerment of regaining a moral place and of reasserting yourself as a woman. A great – and often familiar – premise for a book today but in Victorian England it was truly shocking. Helen Graham has watched her husbands decline and the cruelty he inflicts all fuelled by alcohol but she leaves all this behind with her young son.  She arrives at Wildfell Hall as a young widow with an assumed name. Scandal and gossip rule as people try to fathom her but the truth is far more than anyone counted on.

Dark mysterious and empowering this is still a great read and I am SO glad I returned to it again. One of my favourite reads of the year so far.

For May I am returning to Maggie O’Farrell. I read Instructions for a Heatwave which was good but not great, and many people told me that The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox was much better. So that will be my read for May.

WP_20140506_011

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the year in books – May

  1. Penny says:

    I loved The Tenant of Wildfell Hall! I have visited the Bronte Parsonage a few times- amazing atmosphere. I rather liked ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’ but haven’t read any of her other books. Enjoy your May reads!

    • If you liked instructions for a heatwave you will love some of her other novels. The Hand that first held mine and After You’d gone are brilliant. Glad to find another Tenant of Wildfell Hall fan. Enjoy your May read.

  2. I’ve never read ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hal’l so might give in so after your recommendation. Hope you enjoy ‘Esme Lennox’.

Leave a Reply

