the year in books – March

March is here (and the sun is out!!) So its time for the next book in the year in books project. (I am loving the discipline of reading a book a month and having good books back in my life).

But before March’s book here is February’s.

My book for February was Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell. It was a good read, the characters drew you into their worlds, some more than others. I found Aoife the most magnetic of the family and it was her story I wanted to end well. As with Maggie O’Farrell’s best novels there was a hidden twist but for me it wasn’t as tantalising as others and the reveal was a little too quick and final. And am I a little odd that it was a bit too ‘happy ending’! A good book which I wasn’t disappointed  in but not a great book. I will try Esme Lennox at some point during the year.

WP_20140211_009

My March choice is Life after Life by Kate Atkinson. It seems a little mad to choose such a long novel for such a busy month! But I have a lot of train travel planned so a good read  will be very welcome. I will let you know how it goes.

WP_20140228_004I have to say I am SO proud of myself!! 2 books read. I think ( as with my degree) I need a reason to sit down and read, an excuse, a motivation. And the year in books is giving me just that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the year in books – March

  1. I was a bit disappointed with ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’ too. Esme Lennox is much better. I’m enjoying this project too,

  2. Juliann says:

    I have that Kate Atkinson book on my spring break reading list

  3. Mairead says:

    I keep looking at ‘Life After Life’ and think I might just have to buy it.

  4. Laura says:

    Life after Life was my March read, too- I loved it!

Leave a Reply

