The year in books: February

A little late in sorting out my book choice this month! But first my January read.

WP_20140205_008

Room was brilliant – the kind of book you read in one sitting – but with T still waking in  the night I read it in 2. The tension is almost unbearable at points and I did something which in years of reading I have never done or even considered. I flicked through to the ending. I know – I shout at people for doing that! But as the move towards them escaping began I had to know they would end up together.

As a mum of young children there were a lot of things that resonated. That bond that breastfeeding creates; the need to slowly let go of your children even though you want to hold on tight; the world you create between yourselves; and the lengths you will go to to protect them. A truly amazing novel!

And impressively I read it in January!

So now to February.

WP_20140211_009

I have chosen Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell. I love her writing style and the complexities she weaves into the narrative. After reading After You’d Gone I was hooked and The Hand that First Held Mine is one of my favourite novels. So I am excited to see what this has to offer. A few people have said its not her best but I shall reserve judgement. Others have suggested Esme Lennox is better – but I’ll save that for another month. Let’s see how this one goes.

P.S. As Heatwave was on buy one get one half price I have Life after Life sat waiting in the wings for March!

Linking up with Laura on Circle of Pine Trees

the Year in Books :: Circle of Pine Trees

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The year in books: February

  1. Zoe says:

    Hi, found you via The Year in Books linky 🙂 I have Instructions for a Heatwave on my list for this year so will be interested to see what you think of it!

  2. Laura says:

    Room is an intense read, isn’t it. Life after Life is my March choice, too. x

Leave a Reply

