Playing More – Nature Walk

As part of my Playing More start to the year I am trying to follow the Nurture Store’s Simple Play Challenge. First realisation – you cant work part time and complete all the challenges so I’m pacing myself! Last week T and I went on a Nature Walk and made and played with Play dough. Here is a bit of my learning from the walk.

T loves being outside, always has. But with the boys being in school and busy lives I often resort to the ‘easy option’ and go to a toddler group. These are great and she loves them but we had so much fun outdoors.
What was fascinating was the difference in her response and the boys response to a nature walk. They want to collect ‘treasure’ (usually pine cones) but T wanted to look and listen. She would place her hand behind her ear and listen to the birds or the cars in the distance. When I got the bag out to collect things she wasn’t interested. But she was very excited when we found a daffodil to look at. So lots more outside play for us very soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

