Happy World Book Day!

I have loved walking round today and seeing loads of children dressed up as their favourite book character (G went as a dinosaur from Dinosaur Roar!) So I thought I would share one of my favourite children’s books.

Full, Full, Full of Love by Trish Cooke is a gorgeous story of Sunday lunch at Grannie’s house. Jay Jay spends time with Gran hoping and waiting for his lunch. Eventually the family arrive – mum and dad, uncles and aunts, cousins. There is delicious food and fabulous family to share it with. Laughter, sharing and fun. After lunch Jay Jay and Grannie hug “and full of hugs they hug some more”. And as everyone leaves we are reminded that Grannie’s house is “full, full, full of love”

This book overflows with the abundance of love. I challenge anyone to read the book and not want to hug a loved one. I once read it to a group of adults and looked up to find half of them with tears in their eyes. I have read it to my children and they hug me and each other as we read. I have read it to groups of children who smile with joy at the picture of Gran and Jay Jay hugging (and point out which of the foods they would like).

If you are wanting to look at love, to explore what the love of extended family is this book is a great read.

I cannot recommend it highly enough – Go to your local library (and support them) and borrow a copy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

